Sunapee Old Town Hall one of “Seven to Save” in NH

The New Hampshire Preservation Alliance identified the old town hall on Main Street in Sunapee as a significant property deserving recognition, one of the Granite State’s 2008 Seven to Save. The announcement was made October 16 at the Alliance annual meeting at the Enfield Shaker Museum.

In attendance were Sunapee town officials, Town Manager Donna Nashawaty, Select Board members Richard Leone, Emma Smith and Stephen White, and members of the Old Town Hall Committee that submitted on behalf of the town the application for recognition.

Sunapee Old Town Hall Committee members are Tony Bergeron, Mike Durfor, Ron Garceau, Jo Hill, Betsy Katz, Dana Ramspott, Kevin Rickard, Betty Tatlock, Betsy Webb and Ellie White.

The goal of Seven to Save is to bring attention to threatened landmarks including “a range of technical and financial resources” that “attract roll-up-your-sleeves help for local advocates to advance their preservation projects,” says the Alliance.

The old town hall with its historic clock is a well-known Sunapee landmark. Built in 1889-1890, the building first served as a livery for the Harbor House Hotel. The interior circular, multi-level horse ramp and horse stalls remain.

Interior circular horse ramp remains

Interior circular horse ramp. Courtesy photos.

In later years, when it became a town property, alterations and additions occurred. It went on to serve as a municipal building housing the Sunapee fire station, water and sewer departments, town offices, court, police department and various community needs and meetings.

Recently, the town also applied to New Hampshire Division of Historic Resources for historic recognition for the old town hall. A decision on the application is expected October 27.

The other preservation awards went to: The Church of the Holy Resurrection, Berlin; George Kimball House, Canaan; Langdon Town Hall; Pandora Mill, Manchester; Frye’s Measure Mill, Wilton; and metal bridges, statewide.

Supporters of the 2008 Seven to Save awards are Lincoln Financial Foundation, Inc., Anagnost Investments, Inc., GV Engineering, LLC, Lake Sunapee Bank, Millwork Masters, Ltd., Nathan Wechsler and Co., and Sheerr McCrystal Paulson Architecture.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s